Pattern release: The Dragon’s Tale

December 5, 2014 at 2:14 pm 4 comments

20141205-143321.jpg

I’m going to release a dragon into the wild tonight!

I’m really chuffed by The Dragon’s Tale as I had to step right out of my comfort zone to make it, and would have been thoroughly lost if it hadn’t been for a number of very kind helping hands. (Thank you Catnach, Sandra8981, Madquilter, Alpacaspinner, and the whole group of testers..)

I’ve been quietly in love with this stitch pattern ever since I first saw it. I spent several hours just looking at its construction, and I’m honestly in awe of it. Apart from its sheer rippling beauty, the amount of experience and understanding that went into working out where to place the increases and decreases to get the scales to lean and flow as they do is quite remarkable. My sincere respect to Marjorie Bialkowski for either creating it, or passing it on to the wonderful Barbara Walker.

20141205-144552.jpg

However turning it into a sideways shawl presented some challenges, for me at least.

I’m airing my ignorance woefully here, but I figure that if even I could manage to knit this, then anyone could.

Because:

– I hadn’t worked side to side before.
– I hadn’t tried an integrated I cord edge.
– I hadn’t worked pattern on the WS before and I had to turn my brain inside out to figure out how to work a ssk on the WS, (I was still turning my work around to work out which way I was supposed to lean for the first 3 pattern repeats! Fortunately there is only one decrease and a yarn over worked on each WS row, and the placement and direction is established on the previous row, so it doesn’t take long to get into the swing of it.)
– And I hadn’t used anything above fingering for a couple of years, so this was a stretch in every direction.

In my (albeit limited) experience, dragons tend to be rather opinionated creatures, and this one proved no different. In my imagination, it was originally going to be a shawl, however it was determined to be more lithe and serpentine than I had envisioned, so it became a scarf instead.

Then it needed a tail tip. Apparently all the really cool dragons have them, and this one wasn’t happy without one.

20141205-143434.jpg
Playing with beads and buttons for eyes until Mr Postman makes a delivery from Etsy.

And once it had a little barbed tail, it just didn’t look complete without a head, so back to the graph paper we went again. This time we (the dragon and I, that is) played around with cables for dramatic effect, and then got way too carried away with the button jar trying out different eyes, which was great fun. (If you happen to be looking for some serious dragon eyes, I can highly recommend ArtistJP on Etsy, he has a great variety, and is very helpful.)

But we still weren’t quite done. All this was merely a scarf, and ‘we’* wanted to spread our wings and truly fly, so Dragonflight, the shawl version, was born. This is a deeper crescent (and adaptable to become deeper still, and or longer/shorter) with a wider border, and designed to work with lighter weight yarn, in this case from fingering up to DK, compared to the DK and up for the Dragon’s Tale scarf. It’s testing at the moment and should be out in a couple of weeks.

20141205-143917.jpg
Dragonflight shawl, sister to the Dragon’s Tale scarf.

So the moral of this tale seems to be ‘beware of dragons, because they’re bossy’. Or perhaps that following your imagination can get you into all sorts of fun mischief.

*Dragons apparently believe they are entitled to use the royal ‘we’.

20141205-143358.jpg
The amazing Solstice Yarns ‘Sea Fey’ is a beautiful green gold by day, and turns to secret dragonish gold at night.

The Dragon’s Tale is the second in the Oriental Tales series, along with The Peacock’s Tale, Scheherezade’s Tale, and the tale of the flying carpet, which will hopefully come off the needles in the next day or two. And after that there are a bunch of fairy tale archetypes I am itching to play with, and then.. well, the list is getting rather long.

Entry filed under: Patterns, Spinning and Knitting. Tags: , , .

Care instructions for lace shawl gifts. Ominously quiet in the corner

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sandra  |  December 5, 2014 at 4:40 pm

    Woo hoo you’ve done a great job on this Nim. I’m looking forward to seeing how many projects are worked. Everyone loves a dragon!

    Reply
  • 2. cosmoandknits  |  December 5, 2014 at 7:37 pm

    Looks like the perfect thing for me to make for a dragon mad 8 year old.

    Reply
    • 3. littlehouseonthehill  |  December 5, 2014 at 8:04 pm

      Thanks! I’d love to see what your dragon when you’re done! đŸ™‚

      Reply
  • 4. littlehouseonthehill  |  December 5, 2014 at 7:59 pm

    Thanks Sandra, I’m looking forward to seeing what people whip up too! It’s always fun seeing the different variations. đŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Feeds