Pattern release: The Peacock’s Tale

November 20, 2014 at 8:35 pm 3 comments

IMG_0428.JPG

I’m queue jumping here – I was going to post about the Otherwhere adventures, as the last of these was released on Monday, but The Peacock’s Tale was released to the wild just last night, and you know what peacocks are like! They like attention. 🙂

This is the pattern I’ve had in my head right from the start, the one that made me want to start designing. I’m so glad I waited, as I was able to make the design much more .. everything.. as a result!

In what seems to have become a dominant feature of my patterns, it has a modular approach which is highly adaptable. Any yardage of lace to heavy fingering weight is workable.

The are 3 different styles of feathers (each of which can be repeated indefinitely before progressing to the next one) and then an expandable edging which can be worked at least 2 different ways – either as straight feathers, or alternated to make an eye within the feather tip.

IMG_0612.JPG

One of the testers came up with a fantastic variant which looks like the tail has been dipped into a lake, reflected back on itself.

IMG_0614.JPG

Another used the alternating feather pattern first, then an extra long straight section before another alternation, so that the feathers keep growing.

Some tried just a single repeat of each feather, others expanded whichever phase appealed to them.

There was a surprising rainbow amongst the testers’ colours, several pink or red phoenixes, and of course there had to be a pure white one.

IMG_0615-0.JPG

(See the pattern page in the first link to find more details on the shawls shown here.)

I can’t wait to see more join the flock! Each one is quite unique.

20141120-150907.jpg

Happy knitting!

Entry filed under: Patterns, Spinning and Knitting.

Designer interview: Amy van de Laar, Baroque Purls Designer interview: Terri of Ninja8tofu

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sandy  |  July 27, 2015 at 8:37 pm

    I love this shawl/ is it possible to make a chart for this pattern? Thanks, Sandy

    Reply
    • 2. littlehouseonthehill  |  July 28, 2015 at 8:33 am

      Hi Sandy, I see you’ve found it already, but I knit from charts myself so all my patterns are charted as well as fully written out. I hope your peacock is an enjoyable knit and would love to see what you make with it! Nim

      Reply
  • 3. Sandy  |  July 27, 2015 at 8:41 pm

    Never mind/ sorry…duh!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Feeds


