Red hot chilli peppers

June 22, 2014 at 10:46 pm Leave a comment

red hot chili peppers

 

I seem to have accidentally bought a kilo of chillies. These were labelled as capsicums at the local Fruit and Veg, and I got them because they were were grown right there in their farm, and I wanted to support a local producer, but I’ll admit they looked a little suspicious to me. I even asked the checkout girl, who assured me they were definitely capsicums not chillies.

Don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against chillies. I love them. But a kilo is a lot. And they a hot enough that a slice or three is enough in a single sitting. And the kids aren’t really into them yet, so putting them to use was looking like being a bit of a challenge, short of putting the wind up the worms in the compost bin.

pack of pickling peppers

However we get through jars on jalapeños on a regular basis, so I thought I’d experiment with making my own pickled chillies. And while I’m at it, why not try lactofermenting them, rather than vinegar pickling? Better for you, and probably less mucking around.

So here we have:

half a bag of chillies, washed, sliced and minus their stems
1/2 T salt
2 T whey strained from some kefir because that was what was to hand
Water, enough to cover the chillies

Sorry, yes, this is a very minimal recipe. It is however the basic recipe for lactofermentation. It can be used to pickle practically anything from cucumbers to sauerkraut.

4 days on the bench top in average coolish autumnal weather, and they’ve been in the fridge since. After a week or two they had mellowed nicely and now make weekly appearances on nachos night.

 

homemade jalapenos

 

Entry filed under: Food.

Poetic Thursday #17 Grandfather clock Flame Flowers

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Feeds


