Playing with edges

December 17, 2012 at 2:53 pm 6 comments

cassandraborder1

I stayed up til 1am last night finishing my Cassandra. It’s silly really, the small hours of Saturday night and there I am, bleary eyed, glued to my lace shawl. Knitting, Verrry slowly.. But I was determined to get those last few rows done, even though I knew I’d be paying for it when the kids woke up at 6 am.. This was partly because I was trying out a different edging, and knitting pattern when the kids are awake is, well, challenging.

Cassandra is a beautiful pattern. Elegant and a little bit ethereal. The original edging is lovely, but I wanted something a bit lighter and airier after all my hard work, to emphasise the laciness of it all. So I tinkered around with the traditional arrowhead pattern until it fit neatly into chart 3 of Cassandra, and fortunately (a thousand and one stitches worth of fortunately!) it worked out!

And so, here’s my chart, just in case anyone else wants to try it out. Or happens to be knitting something with a 14 stitch repeat and want to use a light edging. Who knows.. I’ll try to remember to come back later and write it up long hand, but by all means remind me if I forget.

image006image005

Drat, all the numbers should be on the right side, as this chart shows the right side only.  Oops, mea culpa.

cassandra2

cassandra3

Entry filed under: Patterns, Spinning and Knitting. Tags: , , .

Little Houses Cosy Sneak peek

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Melinda W  |  December 18, 2012 at 11:41 pm

    This is a really pretty edging! I can’t wait to try it out for myself. Thank you for sharing!

    Reply
    • 2. littlehouseonthehill  |  December 19, 2012 at 8:15 am

      My pleasure! I’d love to see a pic if you do!

      Reply
      • 3. Irina  |  February 25, 2014 at 3:50 am

        Hi, Nim! I tried your beautiful edging on Springtime bandit shawl
        (free on Ravelry). It is perfect!!! I don’t know how to attach a photo, my user’s name on Ravelry is Jassik, you can see it in my projects! Thank you!!!

      • 4. littlehouseonthehill  |  February 25, 2014 at 7:41 am

        Hi Irina, thanks so much for taking the time to let me know! That’s great, I hadn’t come across the springtime bandit before. And your shawl is BEAUTIFUL!!

  • 5. Jen Hintz  |  June 27, 2014 at 5:15 am

    Would really appreciate a written version of this if you ever get the time.

    Reply
    • 6. littlehouseonthehill  |  June 28, 2014 at 3:44 pm

      Sure, I’ll stick it on the list! I’d forgotten I hadn’t done this yet. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Feeds


