Tortoiseshell Needles

December 4, 2012 at 12:41 pm Leave a comment

Speaking of tortoiseshell needles, I was sitting knitting the other day, idly daydreaming and quietly muttering my stitch repetition, when my thoughts once again turned to Grandma’s needles. I really treasure them, not just because they are so nice to use (which they really are, not cold and hard like metal ones, or grabby like bamboo, but just smooth enough and somehow gentle to handle) but also because they were my grandma’s. They remind me of her purple twin set and the smell of Yardley’s April Violets. I wonder how old they are? Could they even be her mother’s?

Tortoiseshell. How curious to reflect that my needles were once skimming through the ocean on the back of some unfortunate creature, and now they slip in and out of waves of wool, weaving endless miles into rippling patterns. Once they made a receiving blanket for my father,  later they made another for his daughter, and now they knit for my children in turn.  Aww.

But tortoiseshell? Really?

No, after a little jaunt with Mr Google it turns out they are just plain old plastic; casein or bakelite, very popular in the 60’s and 70’s in Australia. Not much mystique at all really.

Oh well, at least now I know I have a better chance of being able to find some more if I hunt around in the local op shops.

And they still remind me of  Grandma.

tortneedles

Entry filed under: Spinning and Knitting. Tags: , .

In a knitshell Owl Cup Cosy

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Feeds


