Chocolate Mug Cake

August 4, 2008 at 9:18 pm 2 comments

For all I know, every man and his dog may be banging on about these at the moment, as I’ve been having a little holiday from blogland, but a friend posted this recipe, and the idea seemed so simple and quick that I was keen to try it out. And given that just lately cooking it right down there with cleaning (which is only slightly higher than speech-making) on the list of things I feel like doing, that’s saying something.

I confess I tinkered with the original recipe a bit, mostly just because I can’t help it, but it was fun, and a good solution to the crisis of having run out of chocolate biscuits and not being ready to face the supermarket at 8pm on a pre-work night, when it’s dark and gloomy and freezing outside.

I obviously got a bit carried away with my tablespoons too, because there was no way that amount of mixture was all going to fit in one mug, so I put it into little ramekiny sort of dishes instead. Which was a good things,as it happens, as I used SRF instead of plain flour, so they foofed up like mushrooms.

Here’s the original recipe

4 Tablespoons cake flour
4 Tablespoons sugar
2 Tablespoons cocoa
1 Egg
3 Tablespoons milk
3 Tablespoons oil or butter
3 Tablespoons chocolate chips
a dribble of vanilla essence

All mixed together, poured into a large mug and microwaved for about 3 minutes(ish)

Photobucket

Entry filed under: Food.

Introducing! Dipping a toe in..

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kat  |  August 4, 2008 at 11:50 pm

    mmm, looks delicious!

    Reply
  • 2. Tara  |  October 9, 2008 at 6:01 pm

    I have to try this! It looks fabulous.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Feeds


