Spinning a very strange yarn.

March 15, 2008 at 11:21 am Leave a comment

This all started because I seem to be attracting spiders at the moment, and am well into double figures in close encounters of the octoped kind during the past week alone. Not a feat I rejoice in at all, sadly. But just now I made my mid-morning green tea, and in the last mouthful, found something lumpy which turned out to be yet another spider. Needless to say there is now tea all over the couch and my ankle. But the interesting bit is that as I was tipping the contents out, I found there was actually a spiderweb spun onto the bottom of my cup. I obviously need to inspect my cups more carefully, but why, why build your web in the bottom of a cup? Interestingly the next cup along on the rack had one too! The cups came out the dishwasher some 2 days ago..

Anyway, impressed by the strength of the fibres, and vaguely remembering something about spider silk being used for bullet proof vests, I did a little googling and found that spider silk is reputed to be 30 times stronger than Kevlar (which is used in bullet proof vests.) But curiouser and curiouser, somebody has even found a way of inserting the spider silk producing gene into the lactatory department of goats (my other ‘pet’ research project at the present moment.) You can read about it here if you wish.

Entry filed under: Crafty Stuff, Spinning and Knitting. Tags: .

Carpet Couch Bag Uncookies

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Feeds


