Gingerbread House

December 28, 2007 at 8:23 am 1 comment

I finally got to make my first gingerbread house. While it may have turned out looking less like Baba Yaga’s cottage and more like some sort of Sarah Homes transportable kit home, nonetheless, I had fun making it. And even more fun photographing it. Next time I think I’ll muster up an icing kit and pipe the mortar in properly, rather than relying on the back of a spoon. I might read a recipe for royal icing too. I might give the dayglo smarties a miss, and maybe I’ll resist stirring the toffee. Or maybe not, I kind of like the crystalline inclusions in the windows. And I might hire someone else to clean up the kitchen after I’m done!

But for a first attempt, I’m happy.

Sadly I could only find one candle, so the windows don’t show up much, but you get the idea.

I had to laugh when the smarties all started to droop, obviously you’re supposed to wait until the icing is a little firmer.

I don’t know if I could face the prospect of actually eating it though!

Entry filed under: Food, In the Home.

Hoe, hoe, hoe! Long cool and green

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Kat  |  December 28, 2007 at 9:51 am

    what a wonderful gingerbread house! brings back memories of when we used to make them đŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Feeds


