Seasons Greetings

December 6, 2007 at 12:30 pm Leave a comment

In an attempt to get into Christmas spirit, and since we’re not brave enough – or crazy enough – to have a Christmas tree with a toddler in the house, I have decided to make a gingerbread house in memory of the gingerbread houses my Mum made when I was little. This has a tang of sadness for me as my parents have finally moved out of the house I grew up in, after many long years.

Given that I haven’t made gingerbread since I was so small that I had to stand on a stool to reach the bench top, I thought it wise to do a practice run. I’m one of those people who prefers their cakes raw, so considerably less of the mixture made it into the oven than was originally kneaded, however here is one that did.

I didn’t have any barley sugars on hand for the windows, so I made toffee instead. I thought the toffee might run everywhere, but it cooled quickly against the tray and the biscuit edge and stayed in form perfectly.

Gingerbread Biscuits

200g butter, melted with
200g caster sugar and
250g golden syrup.
1t cinnamon
1.1/4t ground ginger
1/2t nutmeg
1/2t salt
1t bi-carb soda
500g plain flour
200g wholemeal flour
and a tblsp or so of milk til the dough holds together – or more if you want softer cookies.

Entry filed under: Food.

Newbies Daisy’s Family

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Feeds


