Old McDonald

October 15, 2007 at 4:45 pm Leave a comment

I have a thing for farm animals, and I had an urge to weave some animals into boy’s quilt somehow even at the risk of making it too busy. I dug out some designs I did a few years back for the Woodside Cheese Wrights, and came up with some more to represent the range of animals you can see from the living room window. Probably I ought to have included the odd koala, possums, bandicoot, wrens, black cocatoos, etc, since they are the rightful residents of this area, but as I said, I have a penchant for farm animals, and somehow their various shapes are deeply ingrained into my psyche as being good and comforting, so I gave in to it. I ran out of space for the ostriches that live on the opposite hill, or the foxes or rabbits. When Old McDonald is sung around here, it has a lot of verses. We even had a kangaroo bounce past literally 3m from the house last weekend. It looked understandably confused.

Here are a couple of the drawings I worked from. Now I just have to learn how to do the actual quilting bit!

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at PhotobucketPhoto Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket The one on the left is meant to be an alpaca, just in case you were wondering.

Entry filed under: Crafty Stuff. Tags: , , .

First Birthday Any excuse to make a cake

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Feeds