Caught the quilting bug

October 9, 2007 at 8:59 pm Leave a comment

I’ve always admired quilting from afar, but known the precision, patience, and painstaking neatness weren’t my cup of coffee, so it was quite a surprise to me when I accidentally bought myself a couple of fat quarters. I really didn’t mean to, and don’t know what happened, but somehow a little square of fabric spoke to me of the autumn leaf-carpet under the silver birch in my parents’ garden, my favourite reading spot, and I had to take a piece home with me.

And having bought quilting fabric, I naturally had to make a quilt. Rather ironic really, as I went to Spotlight looking for fabric for a sleeping bag, as boy never stays under his blankets.

So I spent a few happy hours drooling over beautiful quilts in Google images, and came up with what I thought must be the most fool-proof, sewing machine friendly and cheatiest pattern possible, picked up some more squares of fabric, and set to work. And I’m spending every spare moment on it ever since – I’ve sewn over 200 pieces together and I can’t stop! It’s as moreish as MSG. Why didn’t somebody warn me?
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Entry filed under: Crafty Stuff. Tags: , , .

Arabian Nights First Birthday

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Feeds


